Traveling Cat Companions

Sometimes I let my cat, Hazel, write this blog, but today I’m taking over so that not ALL  the pictures are of her!!

When I was a kid, we had dogs, but we also had cats, at my insistence! The first cat companion I had, we got from my aunt in Arizona, who had a litter of Manx kittens. Apparently my aunt came for a visit, I don’t remember, bringing the kitten with her. So he traveled all the way from Tucson, Arizona! We named him Kirry, which means “kitty” in Manx.

 

w/Kirry

Kirry in his last years, sitting on the lap of Mrs. Gregus, one of his favorite people. Mrs. Gregus took care of him in his old age. By that time, Kirry was almost blind.

 

The second cat, half Manx as it happened, that I had for an extended period was when I had moved in with my Brazilian boyfriend in L.A. (He later became my first husband.) He looked at her eyes under the seat of the car and said they looked like jewels, so we named her the Portuguese word for jewel: Jóia.  She was very affectionate toward us but skittish around others. When we moved to Brazil, we took her with us, so she was truly a traveling cat companion!

Joia

There are 2 pics that I scanned together. L: Joia is outside and wants to come in; R: Joia sleeping with my husband, Fernando, and my baby son, Jayme

Hazel, our “tortie” 6 1/2 year old cat companion, hasn’t traveled much. She’s an inside cat because there are foxes and coyotes that venture into suburban yards from the nearby forest preserve. She spends a lot of time on window sills, watching “Kitty TV!”  However, we are thinking of renting or buying a camper to travel around the country in, and in that case, she’ll become a traveling cat, too!

Here’s Hazel playing with her current favorite toy!

20170429_224942

20170429_224958

Ailsa’s Travel Theme: Animal Companions

Leave a Reply

