All my cats!

Recently I was looking through some old photo albums and found pictures of two of my cats that I didn’t post before!

Here are pictures of all my cats:

Kirry (my childhood cat, died in early 1970s), breed: ManxKirryKirry was the most affectionate, “people” cat I have ever known. I sometimes told people, “He thinks he’s a dog!” He did not like dogs, however! He was the only male cat I ever had, also, but we had him neutered. Kirry was a comfort to me during my “sturm und drang” years of junior high adolescence – no matter how my day went, he was always there for affection, non-judgmental.

***

Joia (born 1976-died 1992 – she was my first cat as an adult, and loved only two people: me and my first husband, Fernando), breed: Manx (half – father unknown)

There are 2 pics that I scanned together. L: Joia is outside and wants to come in; R: Joia sleeping with Fernando and baby Jayme

There are 2 pics that I scanned together. L: Joia is outside and wants to come in; R: Joia sleeping with Fernando and baby Jayme

For longevity, Joia was the cat I had the longest – all of her life from 3 months on she lived with me, except for 9 months when I had to leave her with my parents while I was in Brazil. She was very scared of other people and my parents rarely saw her – she was always hiding! However, my mother said she knew Joia was there because she did eat the food she left out for her!

***

Blackfoot (1993-early 1994 – I had this cat for only a short while before my son developed asthma, and found out he was allergic to cats, so we had to give her away. I admit, I also had her front paws declawed, which I would never do again!), breed: Tabby

BlackfootBlackfoot was a very gregarious and affectionate cat. She had a very loud purr! She was also larger than my other cats.

***

Hazel (adopted 2013), breed: Tortoiseshell “Tortie”20150520_172317When we got Hazel, I was prepared for a lot of shedding – Manx cats are big shedders in the spring – but we have relatively little cat hair deposited on furniture or wherever she sleeps. Her fur is very sleek.

Leave a Reply

